Miracle Milestone

This is an update I did not expect to make. Today we received news we didn’t expect to hear. Today was an appointment we have been dreading for months and yet today turned out to be a milestone I believe we can all call a miracle. 

Yesterday, March 14, 2017 Jude went in for an MRI as we all waited on the edge of our seats with our nerves running wild. I kissed his little face before they rolled his bed back to start the MRI and told myself “no matter what, God is good! And Jude will get through this.” I think we all told ourselves that. We prayed in the waiting room together for good results. Jude has already experienced so much in his little life that we never imagined our child would. And we have been given some pretty grim reports. And yet, Jude continues to fight, defy the odds and conquer. 

Now back to the MRI. The process went smoothly and they were able to get the images we needed which was a major relief. But we thought the hard part wasn’t yet over for us. 

Today we had the follow up appointment to look over the MRI results with Dr. Campbell (Jude’s Neurosurgeon) in Delaware. First before I jump into the results, let me give a little refresher as to what we have been seeing with Jude the past year and a half now.

Jude has always been a very happy little boy! Despite his challenges, he is always filled with so much joy and brings so much joy to us. However, over the past year or so things have become more challenging for him. He had been doing extremely well in therapy, he was thriving in many areas, he was gaining movement in all extremities, he was gaining head control, he was blowing through many milestones they said he wouldn’t and the list goes on. 

Unfortunately, a little over a year and a half ago Jude had his first seizure on the way to the first Rhizokids conference we ever attended. It was terrifying and unfamiliar. We hoped this was a first and only but the opposite happened. The seizures kept happening and got worse. Along with the seizures, he started having a major decrease in movement, he became less cognitive and our sweet and happy Jude was very often worn out and exhausted due to the seizures taking a toll on his little body. 

He had EEGs and other evaluations and his doctors began to believe that the symptoms we were seeing were due to an issue that has been frightening us and hanging over our heads for nearly his entire life. We’ve known since he was a newborn baby that he has spinal stenosis along with some other spinal abnormalities. He has had multiple MRI’s of his spine and they have told us that there was always a possibility that he would eventually need a spinal decompression surgery.

After seeing all of these changes with Jude, they thought it was time for another MRI. They strongly questioned if the symptoms indicated that his stenosis was worse and it was time for Jude to have decompression surgery. 

Today when Dr. Campbell pulled up his MRI images from yesterday, my stomach turned. He had all of us gather around the computer to go over the results and let me tell ya, TOTAL SHOCK and pure joy was what we felt. Jude’s spinal column has opened up. The room has increased for his spinal cord by fifty percent! It went from a 3 in size to a 6. You guys, this is INCREDIBLE. The smiles on our faces were huge and I had chills down my spine. I feel as if a giant and painful weight has been lifted off my shoulders! Like the dreaded timer of “one day” has been silenced. We believe in prayer! And this is an answered prayer. 

As far as the seizures go, we have seen a change for the better in the past three weeks. After having Jude on two different seizure medications that we were having no luck with, we decided to try an alternative treatment. We were hesitant as first but after extensive research, learning the THC levels were close to none and reading many amazing testimonials we decided to try CBD (cannabis oil) in hopes that it would help control his seizures. After starting this, we have seen a 50% decrease in seizure activity, he’s gaining movement back and he is much more active and cognitive. He now laughs and talks all the time again!

It seems as if the symptoms were all tied to his seizures. He’s on a very tiny dose of CBD oil and already we see amazing improvement. We plan to increase and see how much better it will get. I still can’t believe it!! His stenosis got better!

I just had to say that again. This is probably one of my most favorite updates I have ever made. Thank YOU for every single prayer and for always standing and believing with us for the best. Once again, our warrior has defied the odds and blown us all away.
He heard my cry. Psalm 40:1


46 thoughts on “Miracle Milestone

    • Congratulations very happy to hear this good news jude is a real fighter I will continue to pray for this courageous fighter super judr

    • God is great! So very happy for everyone with this exciting news! Jude will continue to get better and better. He has his Tribe and many other loving people to help him. Most of all, he has amazing, loving parents and family always by his side. God bless all of you.

  1. Ok this is my favorite update ever… Tears flowing, thank you Jesus for this. My kids will wake up in the morning and be shouting.. Yeah Jude, we are with you praying and loving you.

  2. Praise God for His love and mercy! May He continue to Bless Jude and your family ❀ Praying everyday for the little fellow ❀ Thank you for this wonderful update. Its great to see all our prayers being answered in such an awesome way ❀

  3. Prayers are being answered. I am so happy for all of you!!!! I love, love, love the pictures of mommy and Jude!

  4. Christ Churcg Anglican of Wakulla is so very glad to hear this news. We all are praying for this beautiful tiny boy. We love him to pieces. Pray our Lord will continue to smile on Jude. I love the photo with the giraffe and that little “Jude” smile that stole my heart at your Grandmother Delano’s home. When I held him and he looked at me and smiled for a few seconds, he stole my heart forever. Roberta Phillips

  5. Words cannot express my happiness and gratitude for Jude and his family…..I am so grateful and happy for him….Since I have followed Jude, I have come to learn that he is truly a Brave Warrior and goes with whatever he has to do….his courage and strength is solely spiritual and radiates through him to others….God Bless his Mom and Dad and his entire family…..God Bless All!!! Jude I love you!!!

  6. I have been following Jules story for a while. I have been praying for him and your family. We have a truly awesome GOD. Thank you for the good report.

  7. Oh Hannah, for weeks I’ve been praying for Jude and his seizures and the news you shared today made me so happy!! As a mom of a little boy who suddenly started having seizures a couple of years ago, I completely understand the fear, sadness, and helplessness that comes with watching your child go through seizure after seizure. It’s terrifying at times. Thankfully I found a doctor who treated him naturally instead of with medications when he had a terrible reaction to the medication his neurologist put him on and he’s been seizure free for a year and a half. For weeks I’ve contemplated telling you about cannabis oil, but didn’t want to over step my boundaries, especially since Jude’s situation is very different from my son’s. I am so thankful the cannabis oil is working for Jude!!! God is good! Praying for more miracles!

  8. I am sitting here reading all of this and crying so many tears of pure joy!!!! Thank you Jesus!!! Thank you for always hearing our prayers and blessing us all. But today Thank you Jesus for watching over our sweet Jude.πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ
    Always sending my prayers to you all. Big Big hugs!!

  9. Such awesome, hopeful news Γ°ΒŸΒ™ΒΓ°ΒŸΒΒ»Γ°ΒŸΒ‘ΒΌΓ°ΒŸΒ™ΒΓ°ΒŸΒΒ»Γ°ΒŸΒ‘ΒΌΓ’ΒΒ€

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  10. Praise be to God for answered prayers! I am so happy that you got such good news, Jude looks wonderful and so happy!

  11. Hannah, you know how when you’re driving, and something happens & you almost have a wreck…..but you don’t. And you know God moved. And you know God covered you? Then, for me at least, probably 30-60 seconds after this happens, my arms go weak….literally they ache (in a good way, and I’m just weak all over)…..it’s just the adrenaline that flows in, or however that works. Anyway….sweetie, as I read this astounding miraculous update on Jude Bug, this just happened to me. I had to stop reading, and just sit with my eyes closed…..then I’d read more…..then sit, as the adrenaline started flowing down my arms, and right now, I’m having so much trouble typing. I know this isn’t a very ‘spiritual’ post. You guys know I can do ‘spiritual’. haha. But the reality of what you wrote….and the purity of all God did in …and FOR Jude….all I can say is…..it pretty much wrecked me. In a good way. To where even now, I just want to sit with my eyes closed……and smile. I feel the tears coming. I know they will soon. As Don and I kneel before God, humbled in His incredible faithfulness, LOVE, and Glory, giving God all the glory for Jude’s wonderful testimony! πŸ™‚ Now little Jude Bug is in a new phase of training! Building up his arms. God knows. Yes, God……K N O W S !!! “The joy of the Lord is Jude’s strength!” And we all know the joy that he always shows….even in pain he can’t even express…..God’s joy never leaves him. And that JOY…..unspeakable….IS his strength! Glory! We love you guys! Praying as you drive home. xoxo Rehnee and Don

  12. I am so excited for all of you. This is just a miracle for Little Judebug. I was almost in ters reading you report.You have the most precious most loved little boy in the world. I would just love to be able rug that sweet baby. So thankful for these answered prayers and blessings today. Fight on Mighty Warrior.

  13. Praise God! Great news! Dr. Campbell is my daughter’s neurosurgeon also, he is fantastic! I am so thankful for Jude’s awesome news!

  14. All glory to GOD in the highest for His blessings in a positive report for Jude and his improved health. Jude is so amazing and a real inspiration to me. My prayers continue, with lots of praise thrown in.

  15. I follow your Instagram and your post are incredible to read and see. I can’t imagine what you’ve had to deal with being a new mom myself. You are SO STRONG, God Strong! Your faith is so encouraging to me and Jude is so lucky to have a mom like you. Don’t ever give up on this journey because you are rocking it. Xoxo

  16. Our God is an Awesome God! Thanking Him for all the miracles he’s done with Jude. Continued prayers and love to all of you.

  17. Thank you, Heavenly Father, for blessing precious Jude and always holding him in your loving arms. Thank you for blessing Jude’s family. Thank you for hearing our prayers, for keeping Jude strong & such a brave little fighter. Continue to bless Jude, keep him strong and heal this beautiful little boy.
    Amen

  18. God is great for i too believe in the power of Prayers! we love little Jude so much and our Heavenly Father is watching over him and his Mom and Dad!!I’m so happy for y’all and will keep sweet Jude and Mom and Dad in our Prayers.give Jude a BIGGG HUG for us and tell him we love him so much….

  19. Thank you JESUS for this amazing milestone in Jude’s life! Hannah, thank you for updating us on your miracle son. I had to wipe away the years of joy in order to write this. I read your update to my husband and we love the pictures you posted at the end. Praying for continued success and many more milestones in Jude’s life. God Bless!

  20. Thank You Jesus! Prayer and faith are so powerful and I strongly believe in both! I am so happy to hear this great news! I will continue to pray for little Jude and your family! Stay strong, keep the faith and continue to pray! God bless you all!

  21. I am so happy. Praise the Lord. He is the God that heals. Yes Lord to you be all the Glory. We will keep praying and standing in the gap for sweet lil Jude. Even though I’ve never met him in person, I love him so much. GO JUDE!!!

  22. Praise the Lord for answered prayer. Jude is so strong and a super warrior. Love this little sweetheart so much and his wonderful and Godly family. πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸŽˆπŸŽˆπŸŽˆ

  23. I read this 3xs I’m so happy…Jude you are the man, you are showing us the strength in prayer….my prayers for you will never stop❀❀❀

  24. I have been so concerned for so long about the increase in Jude’s seizure activity and how that was hampering his progress. This is such thrilling news! What a marvelous answer to prayer ❣
    Like everyone else, tears and praise are my only possible choice. That, and pure joy. πŸ™πŸΌ

  25. I’m very happy and excited for you all. God is all powerful and amazing. Sometimes we jus need to have faith and believe and that’s all there is to making a miracle. My prayers for u will continue I have tears of joy and love seeing the updates. You are a wonderful mother I can tell. He has your face and he’s a perfect angel. God bless you all and please never give up on anyone especially on yourself your stronger for this.

  26. God is Good! God Bless Jude!
    Prayers continuing. πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸŽˆπŸŽˆβ€οΈβ€οΈ

  27. Such good news! Continued prayers for Jude and your family! He also brings his tribe such joy. You are such wonderful parents and we’re given a special gift when Jude was born. God bless you and Jude!

  28. This is amazing, but nothing surprises me when it comes to God All Mighty! praise The Lord!! Hallelujah! Thank you Jesus!

  29. God is so good!! Jude, you are so loved. God has big plans for such a miracle boy!! Bless you, precious child’

  30. it brings joy to my heart to hear how much jude is doing. You and. Your family will always be in my heart and my prayers…❀❀❀❀

  31. Praise God from whom all blessings flow.
    Consider naming this chapter of Jude’s life, Ebenezer. In the long conflict between the Philistines and the very human struggling people of God, under the intense interceeding ministry of God’s Seer, Samuel, God provided a significant victory over the Philistines.
    β€œAfter that signal victory, Samuel took a stone. He set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named the stone Ebenezer. Samuel said, β€œThe Lord has helped us to this point.””
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭7:12‬ ‭ICB‬‬

Leave a Reply

