For better or for worse, in sickness and in health. 

I remember the day he vowed to me for better or for worse, in sickness and health. He vowed to hold me, carry me, guide me, provide for me, love me and lead me. 
Hearing him vow in sickness and in health, I would have never dreamed the sickness that would find us would be that of which was diagnosed to our firstborn son. 
This journey we are on together has indeed been the most painful and terrifying. Four letters were spoken to us on one of the happiest days of our life and in that second it felt as if our world was crashing down around us. It felt like someone kicked us in the gut and sucked all the air out of the room. 
I was terrified and the pain was unbearable. And there he was although also beaten down and just as hurt and terrified as me, he somehow still had the ability to be my strength. He found the courage to fight, the faith to believe, the hope to stand on, the tenderness to comfort and the love to heal my breaking heart. 
One of the biggest battles we face on a daily is Jude’s seizures. I daily watch him scoop up Jude and cradle him in his ever so loving arms with tears streaming down his face and I know it’s the safest place Jude could be. I watch Jude smile at him when the seizure ends and I think it’s his way of saying “don’t worry daddy, I’m ok” 

And at the end of these terrible episodes, I see both of their joy return as their bond and love for one another can heal their hurts. 
There are times where this journey has torn me to shreds and sucked my energy away. But he somehow always has the ability to pick me up. It doesn’t even always have to be with his words or his prayers. But his gentle loving spirit and the strength he carries for all of us stands me up on me feet again. 
I knew when I married him that he would take care of me. But I didn’t realize he would carry me through a storm so harsh. I didn’t know one could be so strong amongst their own pain. He’s a strong shelter in the storm. God knew exactly what he was doing when he gave him to me.
His love for Jesus, love for his family, passion for worship, hardworking provision, encouragement, gentle spirit, silly humor, beautiful looks 😏 and unwavering faith are just a few of the things I love so much. 
I’m so blessed to hold his hand on this journey. 

Jude is a blessed little boy to have him as his daddy. Sull, you’re truly a hero to me and your Jude bear ❤️ My vow to love you forever is the easiest promise I have ever made. I know it’s not our anniversary or your birthday. But I want you to know I celebrate everyday with you. I have posted countless blogs about Jude and our life together. I like to write about the things that mean most to me and you mean the world to me Sull. You’re our anchor in the storm and bring bring so much joy to our life. The Lord truly uses you in a million beautiful ways to lead and care for your family. I’m so proud of you. 
And to end this mushy post on a silly note for you…
As Buddy the Elf would say…

“I’m in love, I’m in love and I don’t care who knows it.” ❤️😘😂 

15 thoughts on “For better or for worse, in sickness and in health. 

  1. Oh my.. been following you for awhile.. you absolutely touched my heart with this blog. The love for Sully and Jude is amazing, You are such a Godly women and the love of God and your family is beautiful. Thank you for sharing your life and your families life with us…. Jude has taken my heart by storm.. Love and Hugs!!!!!! From Charlotte, NC –
    Eileen

    • Amen, to all above. You rock mama!! And Sully, you are a true husband and Daddy. And your little man he brightens my heart. I’ve been Married for thirty years so I do know a good man lol. 💚👣💚👣love from Eureka California

  2. Hannah, you are someone kinda wonderful. Your love for your Sully and your adorable , lovable and wonderfully made little Jude. Your blog had me with tears . You are totally remarkable because you are always upbeat and you have a smile and the love of God shows in your little beautiful face. You and Sully have been dealt quite the hand with this baby, but both of you are totally awesome parents to this special little warrior. God chose wisely as He always does for this precious little boy who is teaching those of us who have fallen in love with him so much. I keep you and Sully and Jude in prayers and each time I think of you I tell God Thank you for giving this precious little man to the 2 of you . I laugh with you, I cry with you and I just wish I could be down south instead of up north. I would love to take care of Jude and work with him and make him smile and giggle. My life has been centered around special kids. They are my kind of children. I worked with them for 30 years and worked for 12 years in a preschool for special needs children. They were 3 when they started. It was wonderful to have hands on so early. Anyway, I am so blessed when I read about Jude and that he is working so hard. God certainly loves this little guy and so do I. Thank you for allowing all of his tribe in on what goes on with him daily. You are a mighty warrior yourself seeing to your little family and giving them so much love. His tribe loves you so much. Blessings on you today and always. ❤ Montana Granny ❤

  3. Sully, what a testimony, not of your strength, but the strength that Jesus is providing you daily! I have often wondered how you are holding up, with so much attention drawn to your son and your wife. Today Hannah gave me a glimpse of it. Your faith in Jesus is your only safety. Our only safety! Praise Jesus!!

    Will your anchor hold in the storms of life,
    When the clouds unfold their wings of strife?
    When the strong tides lift and the cables strain,
    Will your anchor drift, or firm remain?
    Refrain
    We have an anchor that keeps the soul
    Steadfast and sure while the billows roll,
    Fastened to the Rock which cannot move,
    Grounded firm and deep in the Savior’s love.

    • Such a beautiful story! Reminds me of some special people in my own family! God does give special children to very special people! May the Good Lord Bless you and keep your family in his arms. Such wonderful thoughts and wonderful Love for a very special family! ❤

  4. Hannah, that is such a beautiful tribute to your loving hubby! Sully is absolutely such a special & loving daddy and hubby. You are a wonderful and Godly family and I pray for you all every day.
    I love your little Jude. He is such a brave and beautiful boy and he has stolen my heart.
    May God continue to bless you and your awesome family!

  5. Reading your blog has touched my heart, Hannah, like it did so many others. You are one inspiring woman. Thank you for sharing yourself and your life with us.

  6. So beautiful Hannah , I don’t believe I know of another couple with such strong love and beliefs. I have said before when god made Jude he knew how very special he was , and that he needed the perfect couple for this sweet baby , he found the two of you . Such a beautiful loving family. Thank you for sharing your life with us . God bless you all ❤️❤️❤️

  7. Your loving words to your husband melted my heart. Faith of a mustard seed comes to mind. God knew what he was doing to put you 3 together as one. I pray he gives you strength and grace throughout your lives. May he continue to bless you and Sully and Jude.

Leave a Reply

